Dove

23 Nov

Ugly underarms is an insecurity that Dove made up to convince you that you need to buy their product. What does an ugly underarm even look like?

6 Responses to “Dove”

  1. Indy Ink November 26, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    I recently pinned this Dove ad on Pinterest, because I agree with you: who gets to declare armpits as ugly? Figured you’d want to see it: http://pinterest.com/pin/140596819588623601/

  2. Liz November 27, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    I actually know what Dove is talking about. My armpits used to be brown and dry. IDK why they got that way, but I used to be very embarrassed of them. I started using Dove, and now they’re my normal skin color. Not to mention that Dove has their “real campaign,” where they only use women with who have average, normal sized bodies. Not unhealthy skinny models. They’re a company who encourages a healthy body and self esteem. For all you know, women could’ve contacted the company telling them how their deodorant worked for them, and then some execs thought it was a good idea for an advertisement.

    I do like this blog because it puts on a spotlight on the ridiculousness that is advertising. However, to assume that Dove “made up” ugly underarms is unfair and kind of offensive.

    • Savannah November 27, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

      If it works for you, that’s great! Personally, I feel that having brown armpits isn’t something that we should have to feel ashamed about, and this advertisement is reinforcing the idea that we SHOULD be ashamed and embarrassed about them. And by telling us to be ashamed, they’re making sure that we will buy their product, because they’re promising us that their product will make us not ashamed. Yes, it works short term, but it’s really just a quick fix when compared to fully accepting all bodies. Perhaps Dove didn’t make up this beauty standard, that might have been very assuming on my part, I just was not familiar with beautiful underarms as a beauty standard before I saw this ad. If they were marketing this product as decreasing uncomfortable dryness or irritability, rather than increasing beauty, I wouldn’t have had a problem with it.

      Also, as much as I appreciate some of the AMAZING videos that Dove has created (Onslaught, Evolution), I feel like they have turned their Real Beauty Campaign into a little bit of a marketing strategy (especially when we look at some of the other companies owned by Unilever, and how those companies really don’t promote healthy body image and self-esteem). Perhaps that’s me being a little cynical, but I’m just skeptical about getting my self-esteem from someone that is also trying to sell me something.

      But this is just what I thought of when I saw this ad 🙂 Everyone’s experiences are different. This blog is just to get people thinking and questioning everything, including this blog (which you’re doing, yay!)!

  3. Indy Ink December 4, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    Savannah, Stephen Colbert did a satirical video segment on this very subject. It’s side splitting, dismaying, and eye-opening: http://www.colbertnation.com/the-colbert-report-videos/381642/april-13-2011/the-word—buy-and-cellulite

    • Savannah December 4, 2012 at 11:03 am #

      That was hilarious! Thank you so much for sending it to me. He does a great job of bringing up the absolute ridiculousness of some of the products we are sold. Sure, we’re insecure about our armpits after you just tell us they are ugly. That makes sense. I just feel like they’re playing off of that to get money out of people.

Leave a Reply

